under International Committee of Slavonic Scholars


On February 24, 2022, the Russian Federation launched a large-scale military invasion ofindependent and peaceful Ukraine, destroying homes, kindergartens, schools, hospitals, maternity hospitals, settlements and strategic facilities. Peaceful people and children are dying from air bombings and shelling of Ukrainian cities. There is a threat of nuclear danger, as the Russian occupiers are shelling the power units of Ukraine's nuclear power plants, which could cause a man-made disaster for the whole of Europe!

The Armed Forces of Ukraine and the people of Ukraine hold the defense and do not surrender their positions!

The European Union, NATO, and 141 UN member states have called on Russia to immediately cease hostilities and withdraw its troops from Ukraine, respecting its territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence. Russia's war crimes against humanity are already being considered by the International Court of Justice in the Hague. The whole civilized world condemns the armed attack of the Russian Federation and deprives it of membership in international organizations, suspends scientific and technical cooperation with Russian scientists, thus supporting Ukraine and the Ukrainian people. Following the Russian invasion of Ukraine on 25 February 2022, the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe decided to terminate the Russian Federation's right to be represented on the Committee of Ministers and the Parliamentary Assembly in accordance with Article 8 of the Statute of the Council of Europe (https://www.coe.int/en/web/portal/russian-federation). At its extraordinary session, the Council of the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) decided to suspend Russia's status as an observer country. CERN will no longer cooperate with the Russian Federation and its agencies (https://home.cern/news/news/cern/cern-council-responds-russian-invasion-ukraine). The decision to suspend Russia's membership was also made by the Executive Committee of the International Geographical Union (IGU) (https://igu-online.org/declaration-by-the-international-geographical-union-on-the-ukraine-crisis/). The National Center for Scientific Research of France (CNRS) suspends all new forms of scientific cooperation with Russia and cancels all future scientific activities involving Russia (https://www.cnrs.fr/fr/le-cnrs-suspend-toutes-nouvelles-formes-de-collaborations-scientifiques-avec-la-russie). The National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine has broken off all scientific and technical ties with Russian scientific institutions (https://www.nas.gov.ua/UA/Messages/Pages/View.aspx?MessageID=8758). And this is not a complete list of international organizations and associations that have refused to work with Russia. It is expanding every day.

The Terminology Commission under International Committee of Slavonic Scholars (ICSS) strongly condemns Russia's unprecedented military aggression against independent Ukraine, terminates the membership of the Russian delegation in the commission and calls on the Presidium of the ICSS to suspend the Russian Committee representation on the International Committee of Slavonic Scholars and deprive them of official membership.

We also call on the world scientific community to make every effort to end the war!